Journey toward happiness

February 10, 2010

Starting my Allergy Free Life

Filed under: allergies, Uncategorized — Tags: — Tara @ 4:00 pm

Almost three years ago, I was diagnosed with a laundry list of environmental and food allergies. It was very overwhelming and a relief at the same time.

Since I was old enough to talk, my mother remembers me having headaches. Every year when the heat was turned on in the house, I would get severely ill. I suffered through multiple sinus infections in a years time(and that was every year) and was tested for Mono more times than I can count. I also suffered from 3 or more migraines weekly. I finally got to a breaking point and began seeking help yet again. When I was diagnosed with multiple allergies, all the pieces started falling into place.

The environmental allergens were upsetting but somewhat easy to learn to control. I began a weekly injection regimen that lasted for two years. I have finally found some relief from migraines and constant sinus problems.

The food allergies are another story. There is no medication available and the only prevention is abstinence. This is rather devastating when you are allergic to beef(boo, I love steak), wheat, rice, and tuna(that one is easy, I hate tuna).

I have pretty much eliminated beef out of my diet because of the immediate reaction from my body. I can tolerate it once or twice a month though. That is when I have a big, juicy, bloody, delicious steak. <my mouth is starting to water>

The wheat and rice… well… that is really hard! I love, love, love rice and pasta. They are my go to quick meals. And bread, oh the bread. I love bruschetta and garlic bread and paninis and…I could go on forever about bread. The one thing that I didn’t realize is that wheat is in almost every processed food out there. Wheat is often used as a thickener in condiments such as ketchup and salad dressing. It is also used in many spice mixes. Boo! I think the worst part of all of it is that rice flour is often used as a substitute for wheat flour in baking.

So here we are today, reflecting upon my history of allergies. I am reviewing this because I have been fighting a migraine since last Friday. It has been almost intolerable. Yesterday, I started researching headaches which lead me back to my food allergies. There is so much more information out there compared to a few years ago.

I am proud to say that this is my second day free of my food allergies and I am feeling great. The dull pain in my head has finally dissipated. I even found a cook book called Gluten-Free Without Rice. It is such a relief  to know I am not alone with this crazy combo of allergies. The transition to living allergy free will not remain as easy as the past two days; I am sure of this. Hopefully, I will find encouragement and support through this new journey in my life. I will post pictures and recipes as I try them out.

If you have any of the following symptoms, please talk to your doctor about wheat allergies.

  • Arthritis
  • Bloated stomach
  • Chest pains
  • Depression or mood swings
  • Diarrhoea
  • Eczema
  • Feeling dizzy or faint
  • Joint and muscle aches and pains
  • Nausea or vomiting
  • Palpitations
  • Psoriasis
  • Skin rashes
  • Sneezing
  • Suspected irritable bowel syndrome (IBS)/similar effects
  • Swollen throat or tongue
  • Tiredness and lethargy
  • Unexplained cough
  • Unexplained runny nose
  • Watery or itchy eyes
  • Find out more information about wheat and other food allergies at food-allergy.org

    Wish me luck on my new journey,

    Tara

    3 Comments »

    1. what a horrible thing to deal with! I would think wheat and rice is in lots of food! At least you don’t have to worry about milk products, except for your cholesterol!

      Comment by storybeader — February 10, 2010 @ 11:05 pm

    2. You certainly have my best wishes with this complex problem. It’s good to hear that you’re getting a handle on it. It seems that more and more of us could benefit from your research! Hope you continue to feel good!

      Comment by Patti — February 11, 2010 @ 12:35 pm

      • Thanks for the kind words. I will be sharing any info that I come across. It is estimated that 20% of the US population has a wheat allergy or disease yet only about 3% has been diagnosed. Hopefully, talking about will help someone else out!

        Comment by Tara — February 11, 2010 @ 2:19 pm


    RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

    Leave a Reply

        Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

